Courgette and bacon muffin

Autumn is clearly on it’s way. There may be some days when the sun still shines and it’s warm but the air is definitely cooler and the leaves are changing. I am a big fan of the colder seasons. I much prefer being bundled up in a big cosy jumper than wafting around in a floaty summer dress.

Courgette and bacon muffin with soupThe colder weather also lets me indulge in one of my most favourite meals. There’s nothing else quite like a big bowl of homemade vegetable soup served with a warm-from-the-oven savoury muffin when it’s cold and rainy outside. A friend gave me a big filled with marrows to use which was the starting point for these muffins. I was inspired by one of the soups I make regularly, courgette and cumin. For an added extra crunch and a little bit of extra protein for lunch I topped them with crispy grilled bacon bits but these could easily be left off for a vegetarian friendly version.

Bacon topped muffins

The cumin added some much needed flavour to the marrow but my decision to make these with only wholemeal flour was the downfall of these uber-filling muffins. My two-year old favoured the bacon bits and indeed refused to eat anything other than the bacon (she is definitely my harshest critic!)

With a second not so great attempt at courgette muffins under my belt can anyone suggest a really great recipe for me to try?

Courgette, cumin and bacon muffins

  • 6 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 300g marrow, grated and liquid squeezed out
  • 280g wholemeal flour (with hindsight I’d use half self-raising flour)
  • 1tbsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 eggs
  • 250ml full fat milk plus 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 3 slices bacon

Set oven to 200C. Mix the dry ingredients together. Mix the wet ingredients together. Mix the two together then add the courgette. Spoon into muffin tins lined with paper cases. Grill the bacon until it’s very crispy. Sprinkle the tops of the muffins with the bacon bits. Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes until golden and risen.

7 thoughts on “Courgette and bacon muffin

    • oh no, what about parsnip cake? beetroot chocolate cake? …cauliflower cake? You would definitely not like what I have in the oven right now…more will be revealed on here soon 😉

      • I’m intrigued by beetroot, and parsnip… Cauliflower not so much… Mostly because I’m a coward 😉 Can’t wait to read what’s coming next!!

  1. These savoury muffins must taste really good because they’re topped with bacon. I would love to try this recipe. Is it salty enough? Does the bacon enhance the lack of salt? I made some zucchinimuffins once without salt or bacon and they had no flavour whatsoever. I want to try them again with a bit of salt. Thanks for sharing!

  2. The bacon did make them taste good. I’m finding zucchini in muffins a bit bland and I’m not sure how to make it better but the bacon certainly added saltiness which was yummy! I would make it with less wholemeal flour to lighten it up a bit and maybe also add some bacony bits into the mixture too. Let me know how you get on if you try them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

