Courgette and seed

Courgette and seed muffin

If you haven’t bought into the Graze craze yet then you should definitely give it a try. Perfect little snacks arrive on your doorstep on a weekly basis. What snacks arrive depends entirely on your own preference. You can enjoy one (or more) carefully calculated nibble to keep you going till lunch or dinner. The choices on the website are love it, like it, try it or bin it. Personally I’ve loved all the honeyed almonds but binned all the olives.

Now I like seeds. Don’t get me wrong. And I definitely like the idea of nibbling my way through these healthy bites. The benefits they bring to body and soul are amazing but it has to be said that I do struggle to open up those little packets. Maybe it’s because they are reminiscent of bird food? I don’t know. I do know that I should “bin” the seed options.Courgette and seed muffins

However, my most recent unopened and sadly ignored packet of Omega Booster Seeds were the perfect finishing touch for these savoury courgette muffins. The cake-y part itself was moist and light but would have been nothing without the flavour of the seeds. The whole thing is just crying out for a little bit of strongly flavoured salty cheese just to lift it up and give it a bit of extra zing.

So next time you get a Graze snack you don’t feel like nibbling on you could always try adding it to a muffin. Which snacks to do you enjoy the most? And which ones would you muffinize?

Courgette and Seed Muffins (adapted from 1001 Cupcakes, Cookies and other tempting treats)

 

Dry Ingredients

  • 280g plain flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp dried mixed herbs

Wet ingredients

  • 6 tbsp sunflower oil
  • 250ml whole milk with one tbsp lemon juice added
  • 2 eggs

Flavour

  • 300g courgette, grated and excess juice squeezed out
  • 1 punnet Graze omega booster seeds

Set oven to 200C. Mix the dry ingredients together. Mix the wet ingredients together. Mix the two together then add the courgette. Spoon into muffin tins lined with paper cases. Sprinkle with the seeds. Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes until golden and risen.

3 thoughts on “Courgette and seed

  1. My favourite snack must be “florentines” dark chocolate, cranberries and pistachios and savoury wise the “beef jerky” (I got it on Monday, yum) My least favourite was the cheesy nuts, not sure how I would use them in a cake though!

    • Mmm “florentines” is a good one! I’ve not had the “beef jerky” (think I maybe binned it but might un bin it if you think it’s good?). I do quite like the cheesy nuts and I love the challenge to add them to a muffin – watch this space!

  2. Pingback: Courgette and bacon muffin | much ado about muffin

Leave a Reply

