Raspberry, rosemary and almond

Raspberry rosemary muffin

A gift of a punnet of raspberries led to this latest experiment. Delicious organic Scottish berries, grown at the James Hutton Institute as part of a teaching garden, require special treatment. Raspberries and almonds are a match made in heaven so I used almond milk rather than coconut and added some ground almonds for moisture as well as extra flavour. I’ve also been really keen to use some rosemary, growing in abundance in a pot on my stairs, in some sweet baking.

Raspberries and rosemary might be considered an unusual combination but they work extremely well together. The rosemary adds just a touch of savoury to the sweet juicy raspberry. I also experimented a little with spelt flour and I really liked the results. Maybe some time I’ll be braver and not use any self-raising flour. Do you dare me?

Raspberry almond and rosemary muffin

Dry ingredients

  • 140g golden caster sugar
  • 100g self-raising flour
  • 100g spelt flour
  • 100g ground almonds
  • 1tsp bicarbonate of soda

Wet ingredients

  • 85ml sunflower oil
  • 200ml almond milk
  • 2 eggs

Flavour

  • 140g raspberries chopped
  • large handful fresh rosemary chopped

Set oven to 180C. Mix the dry ingredients together. Mix the wet ingredients together. Mix the two together then add the raspberries and rosemary. Spoon into muffin tins lined with paper cases. Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes until golden and risen.

4 thoughts on “Raspberry, rosemary and almond

  1. I really like the idea of trying rosemary and raspberries together. I’ve also wanted to try almond milk a bit more in baking (so far I’ve gotten as far as pancakes..). Thanks for the push : )

    • Thanks, the rosemary and raspberry combination is delicious especially if you like things less sweet and I’ve become a really big fan of almond milk. I’d love to hear how you get on with your experiments πŸ™‚

  2. Baked! And these were my first successful muffins! Admittedly I didn’t have almond mile but found that whole milk worked fine. Thanks so much for a great recipe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

