Carrot and coconut muffins

carrot & Coconut muffin bite

I’ve been trying to cut down on the dairy in my diet. Don’t get me wrong I’m not allergic to dairy or anything I just wanted to try to be a little healthier. This is a particularly difficult thing to do especially when it’s the hottest summer on record (I can’t even remember the last time it rained and that’s saying something for Scotland).

My temptations have been ice cream and cake. Last week I discovered a very easy alternative to ice cream which is dairy free. Who knew that freezing bananas and then blitzing them in a food processor would achieve such deliciousness? I imagine there’s all sorts of flavours you could add to the mix to make all sorts of interesting concoctions.

So anyway this blog is about muffins not ice cream. I had some leftover coconut milk from my dairy-free porridge when it occurred to me that coconut would make an amazing muffin. While in Canada I tried carrot muffins so there was my dynamic duo for this test, carrot and coconut. And, they are delicious. Moist and flavourful. I was tempted to add a handful of sultanas and now that I’ve tasted them that would be good. Also some toasted coconut on the top would make them extra special.

It’s a big thumbs up for this dairy-free carrot and coconut muffin.

Carrot & Coconut muffin

Carrot and coconut muffins

  • 50g caster sugar
  • 140g soft brown sugar
  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 85 ml sunflower oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 200ml coconut milk
  • 50g dessicated coconut
  • 120g carrots, grated

Mix the dry ingredients. Mix the wet ingredients. Add the wet to the dry and then fold in the coconut and carrot. Divide between the muffin tin. Cook at 180ºc for 25 minutes until golden and risen. Leave in the tin for 5 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

