Mango Muffins

Mango muffinIt’s been a while! Not only since I posted last but since I last baked a muffin. My interest has been reignited by a recent trip to Canada. The muffins there are fabulous and not anything like the “cake” versions I’ve found in the UK. Canadian muffins were huge. Often they were a meal in themselves with delicious fruit and vegetable ingredients. So after more research than was perhaps necessary on  holiday I’m now back home ready to bring you more muffin experiments.

The post holiday resolutions are now slowly slipping to the wayside. The mango I bought at the height has slowly over-ripened to the point that I don’t really fancy eating it after all. To ease myself back in gently I used the book Scrumptious Muffins by Marc Grossman to make these mango muffins. I love that they use fresh mango and mango chutney. They are delicious, light and not too sweet.

Mango in a mango muffin

Mango Muffin

  • 400g Plain flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 175g butter, softened
  • 250ml whole milk
  • 275g fresh mango, diced
  • 70g mango chutney

Mix together the flour, baking powder, caster sugar and salt. Add the butter and mix with a fork before adding the milk slowly. Mix together the mango cubes and the chutney then add to the batter. Divide the mixture amongst 12 greased muffin moulds. Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes at 200C (fan 180C) until firm and golden. Leave in the mould for 5 minutes before placing the muffins on a wire rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

