3: Strawberry and almond

A couple of times recently I’ve made the most amazing strawberry crumble dessert with pistachios in the topping. I really wanted to make this into a muffin but unfortunately I used up all the pistachios when I had some strawberries needing used up. Instead I found some flaked almonds in cupboard and used these as a substitute.Strawberry and almond muffin

Ingredients

  • 150g caster sugar
  • 270g self raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 85g trex, melted and cooled
  • 2 eggs
  • 200ml milk
  • 200g strawberries, hulled and chopped
  • 100g flaked almonds

Heat the oven to 200C. Roast the strawberries for approximately 20 mins. Mix the dry ingredients together. Mix the wet ingredients together. Add the wet to the dry then fold in the strawberries and almonds. Spoon the mixture into cases and bake for 16 minutes until golden and firm.

Calories per muffin: 238

Note: I used trex instead of my usual stork which meant the muffin was a bit paler and not the usual golden colour. I probably wouldn’t use it again. I also added the strawberry juice which I probably wouldn’t do again as the mixture was a bit too moist. It might be nice as a syrup poured over the baked muffin.The almond flavour might be brought out a bit more if they were roasted first.

Leave a Reply

