Blueberry banana muffins

As promised, it’s time for the most classic of all muffins, blueberry. With so many great recipes out there it was difficult to decide what to bake…

Blueberry in front of muffin

You’ll know by now that I’m not really into the classic so my blueberry muffins needed to have a twist. I really want to create healthier muffins and blueberries are a great way to do that. Also bananas. I had a few that turned brown while I was off celebrating the wedding of two friends. This recipe on Sally’s Baking Addiction sounded delicious. I’m not quite ready to give up all my sugar just yet but this seemed to have a good balance between sugar and honey.

Straight from the oven they looked stunning! They were well risen and the blueberries were bursting through the cake tops in a burst of sticky fruity messiness. And I was right, the flavour was amazing! It was rich, fabulously fruity and not too sweet.

Blueberry muffin trio

But there was one problem, a soggy bottom! I struggled to get the majority of the muffins out of the tin in one piece. The batter may have been a little too runny so lots of blueberries sank. Next time I’d try them without the added yoghurt and perhaps with fewer blueberries.

Soggy blueberries

Since I made these I found another most delicious sounding blueberry banana muffin recipe over on Dinnerbysusan which is now on my bucket list of recipes to make.

Blueberry banana muffins

  • 1 1/2 cups wholemeal flour
  • 1 cup self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 cup mashed banana (3 small bananas)
  • 1/4 cup raspberry soya yoghurt
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1 1/4 cup fresh blueberries

Preheat the oven to 180C. Grease muffin tins with a little oil. Mix together the flours, bicarbonate of soda, salt and cinnamon.

In another bowl, mix together the sugar and honey. Add the banana, egg and yoghurt. Pour the wet mixture into the dry and fold in. Then add the milk slowly before folding in the blueberries.

Divide the mixture into muffin tins and bake in the oven for around 25 minutes until golden and firm. Allow the muffins to cool completely before attempting to remove from the tin

2 thoughts on “Blueberry banana muffins

  1. You are definitely in love with blueberries. Perhaps next time you could try using paper cases as well. It will save all the time spent washing up. I love blueberry muffins too. One of my favourite recipes. Thanks for sharing! lovely day to you.

    • Oh dear yes I am in love with blueberries! I sometimes use paper cases and other times not but I need to learn that with soft fruit a case is soo much easier. I’m in need of replenishing my stocks too so am on the look out for pretty muffin cases. Thanks for your tip :-)

Leave a Reply

