Strawberry and rhubarb Muffin

strawberryrhubarb2

I’ve struggled for a while to bake strawberries into a cake because of the moisture in the fruit. After several attempts a while back I gave up. Then recently I decided to give it one more shot (finding some strawberries in the fridge that were slightly past there best was the push required). It also seemed rude not to when strawberries were so deliciously in season and my enthusiasm for muffins reignited.strawberryrhubarb3

Rhubarb is in abundance in a pot in my garden since I planted a root gifted to me from my parents garden. I was merrily pulling the bright red stalks whenever I thought there were a few and that the remainder could use some extra space. That is until I read that I’m not supposed to pick any in the first year to allow them time to establish. Oh well, no more rhubarb from the garden this year! I’ve roasted rhubarb many a time and usually it ends up with a crumble topping but this time I wanted to do something a little different.

I read about making fruit powder on The Cupcake Project and thought it sounded like a great idea. All the flavour and vibrant colour of rhubarb without the mush. I chopped the tiny stalks of rhubarb into thin slivers and dried them in the oven. They didn’t quite make it to the powder stage as I thought they looked so pretty as they were…perfect for a muffin topping.rhubarb

Opinion is divided on dried rhubarb on top of the muffin but I enjoyed the minuscule chewy bites in contrast to the moist muffin. Now I’m looking forward to next year when I will be “allowed” to pull more of the stalks although I may not be able to restrain myself, the poor things do look so overcrowded!strawberryrhubarb

Strawberry and Rhubarb Muffins

Dry ingredients

  • 100g Caster Sugar
  • 250g self-raising flour
  • 1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

Wet ingredients

  • 85ml sunflower oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 150g greek yoghurt

Flavour

  • 200g strawberries, chopped
  • 4 stalks rhubarb, dried

Set oven to 180C. Mix the dry ingredients together. Mix the wet ingredients together. Mix the two together then add the strawberries. Spoon into muffin tins lined with paper cases. Sprinkle with dried rhubarb. Bake in the oven for around 25 minutes until golden and risen.

Leave a Reply

